Condition of the Hair (Part 1)

This is Part 1 of a short series, “Condition of the Hair,” where I will process and document my journey back to natural hair health and beauty.

As a Black woman, my lived experiences are viewed through that lens. So the stories shared in this series may sound familiar to a select number of you. Please trust that in confessing my own dysfunction surrounding my hair, it is not my intent to criticize or critique any other woman or her personal choices with regard to hair health and beauty. As an individual, I would never attempt to serve as the spokesperson for an entire group of strong, dynamic and empowered women. I am, however, fully aware that my experiences serve as a single representation of a much larger and important narrative.

I am choosing to post my thoughts in my blog because I am a writer and sharing is an essential part of my growth and healing. If you are tempted to take this personally, please don’t. While some of what I share may sound familiar to you, this post is not necessarily about you. Unless it is, in which case, don’t get mad: Get a shovel and dig in!

CLICK HERE TO WATCH THIS VIDEO BEFORE YOU READ THE REST!

I made this video just over 2 weeks ago but I’ve been contemplating the dysfunctional relationship I’ve had with my hair for well over 2 years now. My most recent hair issue started in early 2017. After yet another incident left me with no other logical choice but to cut my hair, I wore my teenie-weenie Afro with an interesting mixture of pride and annoyance. I was proud because I had finally made the decision to do what was healthy for my hair. Still, I felt annoyed because, once again, that decision was thrust upon me by a series of bad choices.

Since 1996, the year of my first big chop , I have gone back and forth between maintaining my thick, natural crown to relying heavily upon chemicals or processes that have not been conducive to the health of my hair. So needless to say, 2017 was not the first time (or 2nd or 3rd) that I had been in this situation.

zombomeme29042018180553.jpg

To be honest, I am most comfortable with my kinky, curly hair. Yet, somehow, I manage to find myself in this cycle dysfunction with it: far more concerned with how easy it is to manage and how it looks than with how healthy it actually is.

Since my first big chop nearly 20 years ago, the pattern with my hair goes a little something like this:

FB_IMG_1524440585180

2008-Full out Fro! Hair so thick and healthy!

My hair is healthy. I get bored with wearing the same predictable styles and there are no more wigs that suit me or satisfy my desire to look different. I’ve recently moved to a new city or state (yeah, that happens every few years) so sadly, I am not blessed enough to have a stylist who is comfortable or knowledgeable enough to style my natural hair. To mix things up a bit, I turn to my beautician of the season and say, “Hey. I need you to do something that will bring my hair back to life!”

Somehow, the memory of what happened the last time I “got bored” with my hair is buried deep within my subconscious. I only recall it at the very moment that I see a tennis-ball-sized clump of hair in my comb. Then suddenly, I get all sanctified.

Dear sweet baby Jesus, if you just let me survive this color/itchy sew-in/braids so tight that I can feel my brains oozing out of my ears… I promise to…

But I never do. I turn around months later and… Well, you know. Same situation. Same prayer. Same cycle.

So, it’s 2018 and here I am: 45 years old and trying to get my natural hair game strong again. To be honest, I’m ashamed. This feeling has everything to do with the fact that after so many years, I still haven’t figured out a consistent, healthy hair regimen that won’t inevitably leave me reaching for the clippers.

20170325_160344

Big Chop #5-2017: This was the fix for a color treatment gone horribly wrong!

The problem as I see it…
The way I see it, I have gotten into the dangerous habit of loving myself from the outside-in and not from the inside out. I have become fixated with waking up “photo-ready,” so to speak. I have been spending more time and money allowing others to perform services on me that I used to feel comfortable managing on my own. Lacking this crucial aspect of self-care leaves a void that affects me in a real, profound way.
My recent dependency on hair weave is less about me not loving my natural hair and more about me loving the ability to wake up and go without effort. As a result, I have found myself relying on folks who may be licensed to “do hair” but lack the training, time or desire to actually care for my hair in its natural state. The consequence of that has been undesired hair loss, shallow edges and a severe loss of perspective. (For the record, I can list 3 stylists who were indeed exceptions to this rule. I will share more about them in Part 2).
I’m in a space where I want to regain a more balanced, healthy perspective about my natural hair. So, I am asking myself some tough questions. These questions may not lead to definitive answers (or answers that I like) but they will likely serve as the foundation for growth.
The questions…

  • What changes have occurred within me that have led to my dependency on hair extensions and weave?
  • What is it about wearing my Afro or rockin’ my twist-out that no longer satisfies me when it used to serve as a source of personal and cultural pride?
  • Why, suddenly, do I no longer choose to spend the time or put forth the effort to care for my own hair?
  • What hair care products, styles and treatments are unhealthy for my natural hair and which ones are healthy?

The work…
I am going to spend some time getting reacquainted with my natural hair. The best way for me to do this is to make and take time to care for my own hair. This means that I must be first in line when it comes to washing, oiling, deep conditioning and stimulating my scalp. It means that from this point forward, until I determine otherwise, I will rock my natural hair more than I do a crochet, sew-in or wig.
This means that I will be my own voice of reason, reminding myself that my hair should not be just full of extensions, but a full extension of me! Much like me, in order for my hair to be healthy, it must be allowed to breathe!

12 thoughts on “Condition of the Hair (Part 1)

    • Hi Sherie! Thanks so much for reading my blog and even more so for taking the time to comment! I am interested to see where this process takes me as well. I have a feeling that, as your comment states, this process is as much about my life as it is about my hair. Please, stay tuned. Your thoughts, stories and feedback are truly appreciated. #JCMT

      Liked by 1 person

    • Ahhh, yes. My goal now is to promote harmony between what is inside and what is seen on the outside. Pretty lofty, huh? 🙂 Anyway, I truly appreciate you taking the time to read my post! I know you have been a witness to all of these stages and never once did I felt judged by you for my choice of the season. I must admit: I do miss seeing the look on WC’s face when I’d walk in your house with YET ANOTHER new hairstyle! That banter between us holds such a special place in my heart now.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. When did we meet? I was definitely apart of that Journey , and I am right here with you as a healthy hair stylist. Smooches and Welcome !!!
    Pat

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for reading and commenting, Pat! I know you are feeling me on this and I am excited to continue sharing with everyone. You and I met months prior to the start of my weave dependence! You were the ONLY stylist in Jacksonville that I could find who…well, I’ll hold off on saying too much. I’m writing about you and a couple of other folks as a part of this series.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As always, I am in awe of your wisdom and ability to be open and vulnerable. I always learn from you and am grateful to call you friend! Thank you for sharing your journey and inspiring me to be more insightful. Can’t wait to hear what comes next!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Molly! It’s interesting that you would point out this knack I seem to have for being “open” and “vulnerable.” I recently had a conversation with a friend who commented on how vulnerable my writing on this topic was. Without even thinking, my immediate response to him was, “If not vulnerable, why bother?” I think I must really believe that, ’cause the more exposed and vulnerable I feel about something, the more crucial it feels to me to write about it! Crazy, huh?

      Anyway, thanks so much for reading and commenting! Please stay tuned for more.

      Like

  3. Tyra, I so appreciate hearing your candid and relaxed words about your journey and I can’t wait to hear more and possibly learn more about myself in the process. Even though I only did the big chop once and never returned to chemical processes or weaves, I was aware as I was reading your story of the many areas where I too have abandoned my hair and the care of it with the desire for the quick fix. I am looking forward to hearing myself on your pages and possibly gaining some insight into my own process and current state of connection to/disconnection from my hair. It is such an interesting thing when confronted with your own self-neglect. Ready to “get out the shovel and start digging!”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sonia! Your words, “I too have abandoned my hair and the care of it with the desire for the quick fix” truly hit the nail on the head! It makes me feel good to know that sharing my process might help to provide insight on your own! Perhaps hair is just hair and I should feel no emotional attachment to it or detachment from it. But until I do the work to discover my own truth about it, I will never know. It does my heart good to know that I have sistas like you diggin’ in alongside me! Thank you for your support and candor! Stay tuned…

      Like

  4. Tyra, I’ve always loved experiencing the rthythmic, relaxed, insightful, engaging, and openly vulnerable way in which you express yourself. Ultimate appreciation and respect! From a man’s stand-point, I’m definitely a novice when it comes to discussing the splendid intricacies of the treasures that are Black women’s hairstyles. But, while I was reading…I found that I was able to connect with your words in a different way. The core message that resonated with me, was “the reclamation of self.” Or better yet, the inward journey of attempting to make your outward representation reflect your true, inner grace. All hit home for me due to the fact that I’ve been going through a personal reclamation of sorts. Visual storytelling via video production/graphics has always been my livelihood, go-to, and an innate bag of tricks on which I could always rely for personal and professional expression. But, over the past 2 years I’ve seemed to find myself in strange and uncharted waters. To make a long story short, after leaving my 9-5 for entrepreneurial pursuits two years ago, I suddenly arrived at a headspace in which I questioned all of my strengths, ability to succeed, and overall…My joy and love for my craft. For a lack of better words, a brotha was in a “sunken place” detached from my creative voice, purpose, and the sense of a reality that I had previously known as a “given.”
    In your post, you mentioned that you “want to be healthy and feeling good from the inside out.” I agree with you 200%. After years of working to please others’ agendas and putting on a happy face (outward image) while fighting to survive the perils of office politics. I didn’t realize how much of a toll that it had taken on my mental health (Inner grace).
    On a lighter note, I was eventually able to pull myself out of that rut to realize a new found freedom, happiness, and understanding of personal purpose. I accomplished it by doing exactly what you’re doing now…Taking things a day at a time. Asking yourself the hard questions, and then finding the answers. Analyzing your growth, and chronicling your journey! I commend you on all that you’re doing. You’re moving in the right direction, and I’m looking forward to seeing how your journey unfolds.
    Plus, I was feelin’ your “2011 – Twist Out” and “2012 – All-Time Favorite Big Chop” looks!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Condition of The Hair (Part 2) | JustCallMeTyra

Leave a comment